A Life That Matters

matterofmoments)Recently I had the opportunity to participate in a wonderful discussion with a group of very intelligent people comprised of both men and women. The discussion centered on the true origins of the people in the bible, particularly their cultural heritage. I wrestled with the topic of our discussion before, during, and after it was over. Sitting here today, I am very glad I participated but I am even more excited about what this discussion revealed to me about myself. As I look at myself today, I see a man with very different life priorities than I had as a young Christian (1 Corinthians 13:11). The things I once thought mattered, I know without a doubt no longer matter to me. My various desires and cares of stuff relating to materialism of any kind, political convictions, cultural astuteness, or moral and ethical beliefs as defined by our self-righteous societies have all faded away. In short, I now know without a doubt and say with confidence and great conviction my priorities have changed significantly all due to Him. It is on Christ the solid rock, I stand; ALL other ground is but sinking sand. (Matthew 7:24-27)

Today, I look at people and simply appreciate them without needing to constantly define them, judge them, or critique them. I enjoy and celebrate people for who they are with no strings attached. I am able to be present, without the distractions of my own selfish preoccupations, without the acquisition of material possessions, status, or reputation, or any concern or judgment of whose right or wrong. These things and more all mattered so much when I was younger in Him, and now they simply no longer do.

Below a portion of the poem “What Will Matter”

Ready or not, someday it will all come to an end. There will be no more sunrises, no minutes, hours, or days. All the things you collected, whether treasured or forgotten, will pass to someone else. Your wealth, fame and temporal power will shrivel to irrelevance. It will not matter what you owned or what you were owed. Your grudges, resentments, frustrations, and jealousies will finally disappear. So, too, your hopes, ambitions, plans, and to-do lists will expire. The wins and losses that once seemed so important will fade away. It will not matter where you came from, or on what side of the tracks you lived, at the end. It will not matter whether you were beautiful or brilliant. Even your gender and skin color will be irrelevant. So what will matter? – written by Michael Josephson

I have learned that living a life that matters does not happen by accident, it is not a matter of circumstances, but of choice. For me, living a life that matters is having, family, friends, and acquaintances who I hope one day will reflect not upon the things I have, or how many times I was right, or stood on the right side of the aisle of life, not on how many degrees I held because of intellect, not on any stuff. But that they would look at my life and somehow see someone who lives a life following after Jesus always in pursuit of God and not allowing people, things, or stuff to detour me for even a second from my Father’s business, (Luke 2:49). We must come to the realization living a life that matters happens only by choice. We should all choose to live a life just as Jesus did making every moment count, a life truly in Pursuit of God basking in the very real opportunity to have, enjoy, and fully participate in the only life that matters…His.

God’s Peace

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Life That Matters

  1. Roland A. Wiley says:

    The place you are, as you have described, is a place that only a few of us ever really get to in this life on earth. You are truly blessed to be in a place where “hopes and dreams, wins and losses” dont’ matter to you. As Christians, we all know that none of the material things of the world matter. As King Solomon says, it is all “dust”.
    Because we are in this fallen world, I believe it does matter that we work to pull down strongholds. One of the strongholds, among many, is the deception that is promoted by the media and even our education system about the genius, brilliance, and beauty of people of color in our history. So many people, including Christians, are going through life with low self esteem and self hate because they have been seduced by the media and deceived about their own beauty and their place in history. People cannot truly be free unless they know the truth. Getting to the truth in this world is more than a notion. It does require hard conversations, and research.
    Christ is indeed the solid rock on which we should all stand. Wouldn’t it be a beautiful world if we all stood on that rock? Then everything we work for and live for in this world would truly be insignificant. Unfortunately, we are in this world (but not of the world), and most of us have chosen to buy into the world system of homes, clothing, cars, social structure, etc., where we must work to maintain these material things. At the end of the day, none of those things matter because we can’t take any of that stuff with us. However, while we are here on this earth breathing the life God gave us, I believe that seeking the Truth does matter and sharing the Truth to those in darkness is part of our call to pull down strongholds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

