You are Loved

Happy V Day

Another day for our nation’s retailers. Another day many people feel as though they must purchase something for their significant other, or someone, anyone. All because of some tradition when three little words mean more on a day known as Valentines Day than any other time of the year. “You are Loved” or “I Love You” are words we all like to hear. When a person feels deeply loved and cherished, their whole outlook on life is infused with energy. All of us are born with a desire to be loved…and loved completely for who we are. Unfortunately, many of us seek this complete, everlasting acceptance and personal validation in all the wrong places or with the wrong people. Like the song says “Looking for Love in all the wrong places, looking for love in too many faces”. Some people spend a lifetime looking for the one, that special one, instead of accepting that they can be loved completely by the One who knows them best, when you do, it is life changing.

In some of the most poetic and descriptive spiritual writing of all, God is portrayed as a Divine Lover. That may be surprising at first, and maybe a bit uncomfortable, yet think of the passion that consumes both our thoughts and hearts when we fall in love. Could it be that the feeling hints at the yearning that God feels for us every day, no matter what? A relationship with God is like no other relationship you may have experienced. God has a unique kind of love for you. It is unconditional (not based upon meeting certain conditions). God loves you because He loves you.

He does not love you based upon your performance. There is nothing you can do to cause God to love you any more than He already does—and there is nothing that will cause God to love you any less. He loves you, even more than you love yourself. You have probably only experienced conditional love. Conditional love is based upon what you do. Perform well on the job, on the team, or in the relationship, and you are “loved.” God says, “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving kindness” (Jeremiah 31:3)

I agree it is impossible to comprehend the enormity and constancy of God’s ever-present love. We are, each one of us, beloved—surrounded by an adoring God who never leaves our side. When we open ourselves to being loved, we change inside; God’s love completes us, filling the gaps in our hearts and allowing our mended selves to more fully love God and each other.

John begins his letter to Gaius calling him beloved. Our faith is built upon God’s love for us. When I remind myself that I am God’s beloved, knowing I can trust His Word. Therefore, when I’m dealing with any type of crisis, I immediately shift my attention to His love for me. I take possession of whatever His Word says by faith. For instance, whenever there is a need of any kind in my life, I can be at peace because I know that He supplies all of my needs because He loves me. There is something so powerful about knowing God loves you.

“In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we loved God but that he loved us…” (1 John 4:9,10)

Jesus describes the depth of His love for us, “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete” (John 15:9-11). He loves us no matter what—even when we disobey. But we will live in His love, enjoy His love, as we obey Him.

So if by chance no one says those three words to you, presents you with a greeting card, or a bouquet of roses. Know the ONE who knows you best doesn’t wait for some special day to say “I Love You” or “You are Loved”. All you have to do is look around to know you are loved and He loves you. He loves you every day, He loves you today, tomorrow, and forever more unconditionally.

God’s Peace!

This entry was posted in Our World, Relationship, The Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

